New answers tagged

1

This is actually very similar to the Flying Monkey in Tomb of Annihilation (page 220). Your homebrew is slightly more powerful, in that it has skill bonuses and more hit points: Flying Monkey Small beast, unaligned Armor Class 12 Hit Points 3 (1d6) Speed 20 ft., climb 20 ft., fly 30 ft. STR 8 (−1) DEX 14 (+2) CON 11 (+0) INT 5 (−3) ...


7

Nothing prevents your familiar from concentrating on a spell or using a magic item The section on "Concentration" states the following: Some spells require you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends. If a spell must be maintained with concentration, that fact appears in its ...


5

Your reading is correct. If we look at the Fey-Touched Creature template it says: Spellcasters with ties to the fey (such as sorcerers with the fey bloodline) can summon fey-touched creatures with summon monster spells and take fey-touched creatures as improved familiars at 3rd level, similar to selecting celestial or infernal familiars. If we look at ...


2

I know, these are no official rules but I think it´s worthwhile to consider what Skip Williams wrote on this subject in his Rules of the Game article. According to him you can (even must) assume a different form than your familiar: You choose a form for yourself and for your familiar or companion. The forms you choose don't have to be the same. In fact, ...


1

Yes, it can act on its own. First, let's cover some basics: since a familiar is a class feature, not an NPC, it should be completely under the player's control. The primary source even states, and I quote, "... the familiar and master are one being. " As such, the DM has no business taking over your familiar... unless that is a house rule your group has ...


3

Rules for something as specific as this are unlikely to appear in D&D 5th edition, so as the previous answer correctly notes, this is up to the DM. There is a little lore on this topic in the earlier D&D 3rd edition, although it only partially answers your question. Celestial animals appear to be able to reproduce. According to Races of Faerun p....


9

Familiars are one of three creature types: celestials, fey, or fiends. As this is their type, one could propose they can reproduce in the same way others of this type do. There isn't much documentation on the mating habits of these creature types, but there is some precedent in the fiends' case, since Cambions are defined on p. 36 of the Monster Manual as ...


14

The rules don't specify, so it's up to the DM to make a ruling If you are the player, raise the question with the DM and see if they want to explore this idea to its logical, or illogical, conclusion. If you are the DM, you decide: does this intrigue you, or is this a hole down which you'd rather not go? If you do you opt for this, you need to carefully ...


-2

Referring to the following part of your question: If the Wizard discharges his contingency, does the familiar still have a contingency active? Vice versa? The Share Spells ability of a familiar just lets it benefit from the spell the master casts. It is still just one single spell and not a duplicated spell (= two spells). Thus, if a familiar shares a ...


3

As usual when dealing with contingency, ambiguities abound. The one thing that is pretty certain is, yes, you can share contingency with a familiar. Nothing in contingency bars you from doing so, and it otherwise meets the criteria described by share spells. Since it’s a single casting, that just “affects” two targets, you only need—and, importantly, only ...


3

The 6th-level Sor/Wiz spell imbue familiar with spell ability [univ] (Spell Compendium 120), in part, says, "This spell allows you to transfer a number of your spells and the ability to cast them into your familiar" (emphasis mine). The familiar's supernatural ability share spells says, in part, "At the master’s option, he may have any spell (but not any ...


3

Your other question clears up how normal variant familiar Gazers work, this Q&A is specific to this odd case in the adventure where it becomes summonable via find familiar. I'm not sure how this makes sense in the narrative of Waterdeep: Dragon Heist, but given the quote you have included in the question, I'm drawn to the part that says: I'm not sure ...


17

Yes: variant familiars behave as NPCs that serve the caster A gazer serving as a familiar has the following trait. Familiar. The gazer can serve another creature as a familiar, forming a telepathic bond with its willing master, provided that the mater{sic} is at least a 3rd level spell caster (VGTM: p. 126) This familiar is not summoned with a ...


1

Yes, but only if the familiar already qualifies for Pack Tactics Basically, since the find familiar rules treat the spell as if it was cast by the familiar, it needs to have yet another allied creature in contact with the target to gain an advantage from Pack Tactics. That said, if both you and your familiar are in contact with the target, it's beneficial ...


Top 50 recent answers are included