New answers tagged

1

You don't get to use a single spell to make a serious challenge for a party of 4 equal-power adventures lose the fight. Monsters get high and increasingly strong saves and legendary resistances. They get bigger (nullifying a number of suck moves that work on smaller targets), and have more veto abilities (like teleports). To beat them with spells that ...


9

Depends on the Save There are very few ways to automatically ensure a target fails a save. There are more options for increasing the likelihood of failure. But you should be aware that there is no counter to Legendary Resistances short of forcing them to be burnt through. Save or die is pretty much non-existent in 5e and Legendary Resistance is there to ...


4

Heighten metamagic If you take 3 levels of sorcerer, you can impose disadvantage on a save by spending 3 sorcery points. You can regain these points for a 3rd level spell slot, so you can use this quite a few times per day. Otto's Irresistible Dance This spell has an effect with no save allowed. The creature can then take an action on their next turn to try ...


32

Avoid "all or nothing" spells, especially against boss type enemies. By "all or nothing", I'm referring to spells, like Disintegrate, that have zero effect on a creature that saves against them. These spells are especially risky against bosses that tend to have high saving throws and/or Magic Resistance, and may have Legendary ...


0

While this doesn't help you specifically (you added that you were a bladesinger after I posted) it is how I solved the issue for my Wizard. Wizard School of Chronurgy magic (EGTW p184) Offers you a few features that help. LV 2 Chronal Shift:...As a reaction, after you or a creature you can see within 30 feet of you makes an attack roll, an ability check, ...


3

Although you've mentioned in your question that you've already picked the Bladesinger subclass, for others looking for answers who do not have that restriction (i.e. the restriction of having already chosen their subclass): Be a School of Divination wizard As a School of Divination wizard, you have access to the Portent class feature (PHB, p. 116): Starting ...


28

Yes, but there's usually not much benefit Certain spells have a special tag: ritual. Such a spell can be cast following the normal rules for spellcasting, or the spell can be cast as a ritual. The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal. It also doesn't expend a spell slot, which means the ritual version of a spell can't be ...


60

The limit is 142 times Each ritual adds 10 minutes and most spells take 6 seconds1, there are 60 minutes in an hour, 24 hours in a day so 144 lots of 10 minutes, lose just under 15 minutes for the normal casting time so 142 is the maximum. This is likely to be “as many times as the wizard wants” unless his wants are excessive. Kidding aside; your ...


3

A good rule of thumb: Rules are supposed to mean something Sometimes a rule is so poorly worded that part of it, in fact, doesn't mean much (or mean anything at all). But in general, writing rules like this takes a lot of time and effort, and that means someone had to get paid for it. It's probably supposed to mean something (even if that something ...


21

Each description specifies targeting a second creature. Each feature description is specific to state that we may “target a second creature”. The first three ordinal numbers in English are first, second, and third; not first, second, and second. So if we target a third creature, we are contradicting both spell descriptions which specify we may only target a ...


-10

RAW: Yes If a spell has a single target, then even after the effects of Twinned Spell or Split Enchantment, the spell itself has a single target. Neither feature modifies the spell.


5

As Page 56 of the DCC Core Rulebook says: Elves can cast spells as wizards do. An elf of the same power level as a human wizard also has many decades of combat experience. As such, elves typically cast their spells just as competently as human wizards and also have martial skills. The feature is there so you know that only wizards (including elves) can get ...


11

Once Legendary Resistance is applied, Chronal Shift has no trigger. Chronal shift reacts to seeing whether the roll succeeds or fails. The roll occurs, you hear from the DM what the result is, and you use a power, which (probably) changes the roll. Legendary Resistance reacts to failing the save. The roll occurs, the save is failed, and it chooses to ...


23

Yes, you can use it to force a re-roll, but it doesn't change the result. It is important to note that Legendary Resistance does not change the actual number rolled on the die, nor does it change the fact that a die has been rolled in the first place,, it only changes the outcome of that roll. When a creature with Legendary Resistance chooses to succeed on a ...


1

There is no reason for you to worry about spellbooks at all The D&D universe contains normal books. There may well be a normal book that instructs wizard adepts on how to cast firebolt, or any other cantrip. Rather than stealing a spellbook, your character most likely stole one of these books. Like a spellbook, it may be encoded with special wizardly ...


1

Note: Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden has not yet been published, so some details of how this magic item works may change by the time the adventure is published on September 15, 2020. For now, this answer is based on the description shown in the the linked tweet. You can only use a scroll of tarrasque summoning once. Wizards can't copy non-spells into ...


0

According to more recent printings, No The PHB 1.22 errata contains "Spellbook (p. 114). A spellbook doesn’t contain cantrips." https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/8760-official-wizards-of-the-coast-errata#c16 In the 2016 printing of Curse of Strahd, there were two spellbooks listed with three cantrips ...


9

Find (greater) steed does not work with magic jar if your steed has no soul The magic jar spell states (emphasis mine): Your body falls into a catatonic state as your soul leaves it and enters the container you used for the spell's material component. [...] For the steed to even be affected, it must have a soul. I honestly have no idea whether it does or ...


1

Great Weapon Master does not grant any weapon proficiencies As others have pointed out, the Great Weapon Master feat does not grant you proficiency with heavy weapons (which is to say, weapons with the "Heavy" weapon property, as per PHB. p 147) as nothing in the feat's description says that it does, but rather, the feat already assumes you have ...


6

We don't have enough information to know The item description is a teaser for an as yet unreleased book. We don't even know if that is the complete description of the item or if there is more restrictions. All we really have to go on is the follow up tweet: Not a spell scroll. #wotcstaff So it is unlikely this item will obey the standard rules for spell ...


2

No, the feat doesn't grant proficiency with any weapons The description of the Great Weapon Master feat says (PHB, p. 167): You’ve learned to put the weight of a weapon to your advantage, letting its momentum empower your strikes. You gain the following benefits: On your turn, when you score a critical hit with a melee weapon or reduce a creature to 0 hit ...


4

Great Weapon Master does not grant any proficiencies. First, if the feat granted proficiency with any weapons, it would state that it granted proficiency with a weapon. It does not. Second, the clause you quote is defining the condition under which one may use the second bullet of the feat: Before you make a melee attack with a heavy weapon that you are ...


31

Evocation wizards can safely nuke their parties This is a key feature of the School of Evocation wizard subclass. They still need to expend spell slots, and the other "price" they pay is not having access to the class features of other schools, such as the School of Divination subclass' Portent feature. In other words, it's their cool thing that ...


10

Sculpt spells makes affected creatures immune to the spell's effects that require a saving throw As you quoted in your question, Sculpt Spells says (emphasis mine): Beginning at 2nd Level, you can create pockets of relative safety within the Effects of your Evocation Spells. When you cast an Evocation spell that affects other creatures that you can see, you ...


17

You don't lose concentration, but you can't cast the spell. This really isn't any different than Readying the spell and either not getting the trigger you expected or opting not to use the trigger when it arrives. But it is kind of a tricky situation, and while losing concentration makes sense at face value, there are rules to support that it doesn't - even ...


0

The Sage advice response has the force of errata inasmuch as it changes the rules. Consequently, although no support is present for this in any book, making an opportunity attack will cause you to lose your readied action. However, since the Sage advice column says nothing about any other sort of reaction or reactions in general, you can still use those ...


5

I have reviewed the PHB, DMG, XGtE, and the Sage Advice Compendium for any rules relevant to the situation, and unfortunately, none of them explicitly bring any clarity here. The best we can do is make a reasoned DM ruling from what we have, and the quoted Sage Advice question gives some guidance. Since the Sage Advice ruling is specific to opportunity ...


11

Sage Advice does not require additional support. To answer the last question first, as of the Sage Advice Compendium v2.3 (from mid-2019), they added this statement: Official Rulings Official rulings on how to interpret rules are made here in the Sage Advice Compendium by the game’s lead rules designer [...] The Sage Advice answer is considered an official ...


Top 50 recent answers are included