Hot answers tagged

13

I think what you're overlooking is that while Aegis of Ensnarement is a close burst 2 when applying the mark, the punishment is much longer range If a target marked by this power is within 10 squares of you when it hits with an attack that does not include you as a target, you can use an immediate reaction after the target's entire attack is resolved to ...


7

RAW, you can't get Defend the Line unless you're a Knight. Defend the Line is a utility power granted by the Fighter Stance class feature of Knights. It has no level, and thus cannot even be replaced by Acolyte Power when you multiclass. There's space for a multiclass entry feat that gives you the use of some Fighter Stances, but multiclass support is very ...


6

To my knowledge, there is nothing that turns Swordmage Aegis (any of them) into a Ranged power, so I'm going to answer this assuming you were just referring to increasing the distance between you and the target you are marking. The two options for doing this are with Paragon Paths. Wandering Swordmage (FRPG p68) adds your Wisdom mod to the size of the burst ...


5

The Things You Have Set You've covered most of the more specific ways that you can address issues of lower checks at the end (multiclassing being a major way to do so), but I will note that some of the major restrictions you've placed on yourself are probably why your skills are fairly behind. A lot of skill optimization in 4e is about small bonuses adding ...


5

The answer is yes. First, it's important to differentiate the two powers. Friendly Fire is clearly yes, as long as it is within 2 squares of its original target- the target is 1) a creature and 2) within two squares of the target of its original attack. With Hypnotism, there are two arguments against, as noted in "Can the target of Drunken Monkey attack ...


4

You are correct. That particular function of Crag of Steel if going to be fairly limited outside of specific party compositions (mainly ones that include PCs who give direct damage penalties or non-resist damage reduction like Aegis of Shielding). However, I'd generally classify that part as a ribbon, since, as you noted, the rest of the power is actually ...


4

RAW, the only way you can get it is by Paragon Multiclassing. The entry for paragon multiclassing in the Player's Handbook (209) specifies that: At 11th level, you can choose to replace one of your at-will powers with an at-will power from your multiclass class. Note that unlike the Half Elf's Dilettante or Human bonus at will, this does not specify an ...


2

As you've noted, the wording is vague. The group I'm part of (which I believe is the largest 4e community still active), however, actually went with option 3, which is that the target cannot move, in any way, to a square that is not adjacent to the battlemind that lodestone lured it. This sounds like your option 1, however, forced movement is still movement. ...


2

The Player's Handbook only refers to adding “Your weapon's proficiency bonus (if you're using a weapon you're proficient with)” (page 274). Every other mention of determining attack bonus in the Player's Handbook and the Rules Compendium uses “appropriate bonuses” and such, not more specific language. It seems simplest to allow it, since they are proficient ...


2

The wording of the trigger is the most relevant part of this. In your case, the triggering being specifically that the triggering creature ends its movement in a square adjacent, the movement portion of the charge needs to have resolved, and the power can negate the attack that follows the movement. Compare to the Assassin Utility 2 Smoke Bomb's trigger ...


1

With your stats, it will take either 3 feats or 2 feats and an enchantment. The first two feats are spent on getting Heavy Blade implements. This is exclusively available to arcane multiclasses, and the only one you qualify for is Binding Initiate [Dragon 402] (the others all need Int or Cha). This allows you to take Arcane Implement Proficiency (Heavy ...


1

The Handaxe is listed as a Military Melee Weapon. But in addition to that it has the Heavy Thrown property, and the Heavy Thrown property (Rules Compendium 260) specifies that A thrown weapon is a ranged weapon that is hurled from the hand, rather than used to launch a projectile. Thus, the Handaxe is both a melee and a ranged weapon. It can take ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible