The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

Hot answers tagged

35

The rules simply don’t cover this case; it is entirely up to the DM to decide what happens. Four possibilities spring to my mind: The net returns, without the target, making the endeavor pointless. The returning property fails entirely, the net being pinned in place by the target. The target is dragged back to the artificer. The returning is delayed until ...


16

No, a monk's fists are not considered weapons. Monk's Martial Arts states Your practice of martial arts gives you mastery of combat styles that use unarmed strikes and monk weapons, which are shortswords and any simple melee weapons that don't have the two-handed or heavy property. which means that even for the monk, unarmed strikes are not ...


13

This change is unbalancing as it makes the Dueling Fighting Style often strictly better than the Great Weapon Fighting Style Let's look at the Dueling Fighting Style (D-FS), it states: When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls with that weapon. This is quite clearly meant to benefit those ...


8

You cannot gain proficiency in this harpoon as it is not a weapon. Ask your GM about training or something else during downtime There are not stats for the harpoon in question, all we have is the stats for the device that fires it, the harpoons are merely ammunition and not themselves weapons. So there would be no way to gain proficiency in them, except as ...


7

It is up to the DM to decide This is a case where we have a mechanic introduced from Unearthed Arcana that does not mesh clearly with the rules. It's unclear if WotC considered the net when coming up with this, but for whatever reason, that specific interaction isn't addressed – which means it's up to the DM to decide. This is also a case where there isn't ...


7

The net returns to the artificer and the target remains restrained until freed, RAW. There are no special conditions indicated on the returning weapon. In common with other rulings, “it does what it says it does” applies in this case. The weapon returns to the wielders hand immediately after it is used to make a ranged attack. Returning Weapon: This ...


6

The errata for Dark Heresy 1e states The entry for Tearing on page 129 should read: “Tearing weapons are vicious devices, often using multitudes of fast-moving jagged teeth or fragmented or explosive ammunition to rip into flesh and bone. These weapons roll one extra die for damage, and the lowest result is discarded.”


5

Is it RAW to require the Search Action for finding and picking up an item that has been Disarmed? The Answer depends on if you are using the variant rule Disarm. Further, what ramifications are there for including this requirement? More realistic and difficult encounters for all parties. If you mean the Disarming Attack option of the Fighter When you ...


5

So in D&D, attacking involves two separate rolls: an “attack” roll to see if you hit, and if you do, a “damage” roll to see how much damage you do. The +5 bonus is on the attack roll—it’s a way of showing how accurate you are. The 1d8 is the base damage for a longbow, and then you have a +3 bonus because of your other stats. Thus, an attack for you ...


4

You might annoy your players I am not (in this answer at least) concerned about balance implications, but having to spend an action looking for something that isn't hidden would drive me from your table. By the rules your character knows the exact location of an invisible creature trying to be stealthy but failing to roll a high enough stealth check, in a ...


3

A large butchering axe is one size larger than a medium butchering axe. That means you use the following clause from the relevant FAQ: If the size increases by one step, look up the original damage on the chart and increase the damage by two steps. If the initial size is Small or lower (or is treated as Small or lower) or the initial damage is 1d6 or ...


3

Going by the UA RAW, it would appear that the net returns to the thrower regardless of a hit or miss: This magic weapon grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it, and it returns to the wielder’s hand immediately after it is used to make a ranged attack. As per the infusion's description, the ...


2

As you indicated that lore from previous editions is acceptable, there is this notation in the Tunnels and Trolls 5th edition: Daggers All daggers are one handed weapons. Some may be thrown, some may not. Therefore, in the DEX Req column there are two listings: The first is the DEX requirement to handle the dagger, the second number is the DEX ...


2

UA Eberron Arificer states: Returning Weapon: This magic weapon grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it, and it returns to the wielder’s hand immediately after it is used to make a ranged attack So immediately after the net is used to make a ranged attack, it is returned to the owner's hands. D&D Beyond states: A Large or ...


2

I want to challenge your approach to this. As you note, the Light property is defined like this: Light. A light weapon is small and easy to handle, making it ideal for use when fighting with two weapons. This property isn't just there as a computer function — it's also part of the basic description. A hand crossbow is small and easy to handle. And it is, ...


1

Tearing weapons roll an extra dice in addition to however many dice are required for the weapon and then the dice with the lowest result is discarded. For example, the Angelus bolter from the Dark Heresy supplement Inquisitor's Handbook has 2d10 damage and (like all bolt weapons) the Tearing quality. Let's presume that my character shot a heretic with ...


1

No, there is no way to gain proficiency with harpoons, as they are ammunition, and it is not possible to gain proficiency in ammunition. Further, it is not possible to gain proficiency with the Sling Thrower weapon itself, because its stat block (as you quoted) implies it to be a 'siege weapon', which as explained in the answer to this question Can Siege ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible