84

You don't If you don't use immune foes when you were planning on doing so then you are invalidating this players choice, and taking away the agency they showed during character creation. You will also impact other players who might wonder why you aren't skirting around their weaknesses - or worse, why they bothered to create rounded characters instead of ...


70

Not all scrolls are Spell Scrolls. There is a Scroll of Protection. Granted the list of scrolls that NOT spell scrolls is limited to that one scroll. The section on page 200 is specific to Spell Scrolls. The effect of the two rules is that anybody that can read a written language can use a Scroll of Protection while you need the spell to be in your class' ...


68

Remember in D&D RAW, specific overrides general. The general rule for scrolls "any creature that can understand a written language can read the arcane script on a scroll and attempt to activate it" is overridden by the specific rule for Spell Scrolls: "if the spell is on your class's list you can use an action to read it...otherwise the scroll is ...


67

Multiple Roles You indicated that the player has an interest in picking utility spells when a suitable lightning based spell is not available. I recommend steering the players towards spells whose utility can make a big difference in a fight - there are many useful spells in this category. Also, steer them towards metamagics that can increase their ...


64

That would be very powerful. Let's compare the effect with the other things Wish can do: You grant up to ten creatures you can see immunity to a single spell or other magical effect for 8 hours You undo a single recent event by forcing a reroll of any roll made within the last round You grant up to ten creatures that you can see resistance to a damage type ...


49

The caster continues casting the spell. Taking the same quotes from @Xirema's answer, we have the following for casting spells with a long casting time: Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend ...


47

Yes, you can do this That's how it goes. Spell slots are regained at the end of a long rest, and there's no rule forbidding spellcasting during a long rest. It's effective and somewhat cheesy, but not as broken as it might sound at first. To cast that spell before ending the rest, you need to save up a slot for it. If you intend to do this constantly, you ...


44

The Spellcaster would lose the spell This is relatively straightforward. The rules for spellcasting state unambiguously that a caster casting a spell with a long casting time must use their action each turn to cast it: Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you cast a spell with a casting ...


44

"1/X Caster" is shorthand for how quickly a character gains "spellcaster levels" (and with them, more spell slots) The progression for each of these spellcaster types looks like this, with the first column representing Character Level as a Single-classed X and the other columns representing the "Spellcaster Level" they have as that Single-classed X at a ...


43

Player's Handbook p.203 Once a spell is cast, its effects aren’t limited by its range, unless the spell’s description says otherwise. QED From your example, Heat Metal says: Until the spell ends, you can use a bonus action on each of your subsequent turns to cause this damage again. There is no range or LoS limit on this - they can run but they ...


41

You can end concentration at any time (no action required). As it says above, you can end it at any time, no action required. It means you don't need to use a reaction, so you can elect to just end it. Which means yes, you can end your concentration as an enemy approaches so that you drop out of their reach.


37

Up to you Quoting from the rules of the Wish spell: You might be able to achieve something beyond the scope of the above examples. State your wish to the DM as precisely as possible. The DM has great latitude in ruling what occurs in such an instance, the greater the wish, the greater the likelihood that something goes wrong. However, "casting all my ...


35

RAW this should be fine Given that, as you say, the illusion of armour, then the armour being made real, do not 'harm' the enemy, then there's no reason why this would contradict the emboldened part of your quote: "The object can't deal damage or otherwise directly harm anyone". The fact that the enemy wizard is now unable to cast spells is simply a side ...


34

Yes, it does There are no caveats in the rules for casting a spell that ends up not affecting a creature. The rules on spell slots just state that when a character casts a spell, he or she expends a slot of that spell's level or higher... After all, you simply don't know whether a spell will affect a creature or not until you try (like trying to fireball a ...


32

This is not how the rule is intended Instead of adding a proficiency bonus to an ability check, an attack roll, or saving throw, the character's player rolls a die. Going by the text in the DMG, quoted above, proficiency dice are used only when making a roll. It does not completely replace a character's proficiency bonus. Using dice to replace ...


31

In general, the spell attack bonus and save DCs of a Thief with Use Magic Device is given by the following rule (DMG, page 141): If you don't have a spellcasting ability - perhaps you're a rogue with the Use Magic Device feature - your spellcasting ability modifier is +0 for the item, and your proficiency bonus does apply. However, in the specific case ...


31

No. You get to wait to see if the attack would hit you. It's specifically a reaction to when you were hit and it allows you to rewind and replay the attack as if you'd cast shield before it (using the original attack roll). See the text: Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell ... ...


31

It refers to the speed at which classes gain spell slots and new levels of spells during their progression. Full casters (like a Wizard) gain spell slots fastest, while 1/3rd casters only gain slots and new spell levels at about a third that rate. The name "1/2 caster" and "1/3 caster" comes from the Multiclassing rules, which state that if you have levels ...


30

The maximum number of spells a character can cast in a round is 3. You can only take 1 reaction per round, although some monsters have an ability that allows them to ignore this restriction. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This means that you can cast a bonus action spell and a ...


29

Characters can only cast spells if they have a feature that allows them to The base Monk class does not have a Spellcasting feature, so if you're able to cast spells as a Monk, it needs to have come from somewhere else. Something like: Your Monastic Tradition offering specific spells (and only those spells) that you may cast as part of your Monk features ...


28

The rules say change, not add to, prepared spells The difference between "adding to those already prepared" (your proposal) and "changing those previously prepared" hinges on "the new list" being prepared after a long rest. You prepare the list of paladin spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the paladin spell list. When you do ...


27

You would have four cantrips. The general rule is that features from your race, class, archetype, or whatever, are additional to one another. Features do not stack only when explicitly noted by the rules.


27

RAW, a Ranger can't cast two spells requiring spell slots on the same turn, if one is a bonus action. One must be a cantrip, if the spell being cast as a bonus action uses a spell slot. A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action ...


27

A spell's verbal, somatic, and material components are necessary but not sufficient The rules have this to say on spell components (emphasis added): A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components. If you can't ...


26

Yes, the user must maintain concentration. The DMG says this about items that cast spells (on page 141): The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration.


25

One wizard cannot directly prepare spells from another wizard's spellbook. The cost - of both gold and time - of copying spells into a wizard's spellbook represents the time taken to decode the other wizard's personal notation for their casting. For each level of the spell, the process takes 2 hours and costs 50 gp. Once complete, the wizard has translated ...


24

No, they do not stack Per the basic rules on multiclassing, specifically under spellcasting: Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of that class when you cast the spell. Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated ...


24

Flame Blade cannot be used with Booming Blade Although diegetically the Flame Blade spell gives you a flaming weapon, you cannot use it for ordinary weapon attacks like what Booming Blade requires. The Flame Blade spell only gives you the ability to make Melee Spell Attacks with your action, dealing the amount of damage specified by the spell. You evoke ...


24

It is a concentration spell, so yes Simply dropping concentration (which takes no action, per the rules on concentration) ends the spell prematurely, unless the spell description overrides what happens when concentration ends (as conjure elemental does). If the spell is not a concentration spell, you can end it early if the spell description says so, but ...


23

You're casting the spell. The verbiage is always "you cast," for the items in question. The Ring of Spell Storing uses "you cast" (and it's a good test case as it uses the spell save DC and slot level of the original caster), as do all of the wands I can find. That means any other effects you have (Such as the Abjurer's Arcane Ward, and the Sorcerer's meta ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible