Questions tagged [eldritch-invocations]

For questions about eldritch invocations, a feature specific to the warlock class in Dungeons & Dragons that grants the character access to additional spellcasting options and other magical abilities. (See also the [warlock] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3 votes
1 answer
203 views

Is this homebrew Eldritch Invocation, Blade Works, balanced?

Problem I've recently been playing a Pact of the Blade Warlock, deliberately abstaining from Eldritch Blast to focus on melee attacks. As we've gotten into later levels, the missing flexibility and ...
user avatar
  • 11.1k
5 votes
2 answers
355 views

Is flying a broom light activity?

My warlock is currently attempting to flee persecution, and I am making the argument to my DM that, as he has Aspect of the Moon and does not require sleep, he should be able to fly his broom in a ...
user avatar
5 votes
0 answers
51 views

Rules for creating new Warlock invocations [duplicate]

I see that there is only a post on the website with rules for creating a new spell (Rules for creating new spells?), and I have a similar question: How can I create a new (normal, non-epic) invocation?...
user avatar
  • 167
6 votes
1 answer
195 views

If my Warlock's Book of Shadows is destroyed, do the non-ritual contents return after recreating the book?

The eldritch invocation Far Scribe lets a creature put its name in the book. Likewise for Gift of the Protectors. With your permission, a creature can use its action to write its name on that page, ...
user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
513 views

Does the +1 bonus from the Improved Pact Weapon warlock invocation stack with the 2d6 extra damage from the Flame Tongue magic weapon?

To build up from this similar question, does the warlock's +1 bonus from the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation stack with optional bonuses, i.e. flame tongue when activated does 2d6 extra fire ...
user avatar
  • 255
4 votes
1 answer
305 views

Does Thirsting Blade Stack With Twinned Blades?

Does Twinned Blades from the Compendium of Forgotten Secrets: Awakening stack with Thirsting Blade? Twinned Blades says both weapons are pact weapons, and Thirsting Blade affects my pact weapon. So ...
user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
493 views

How does the warlock's Gaze of Two Minds eldritch invocation interact with senses other than vision/hearing, such as Blindsight?

The warlock's Gaze of Two Minds eldritch invocation states that: [...] While perceiving through the other creature's senses, you benefit from any special senses possessed by that creature, and you ...
user avatar
  • 1,950
6 votes
2 answers
624 views

Relentless hex and invisible target

If you Hexblade Cursed a target and you have Relentless Hex as an Eldritch Invocation, what happens when your target goes invisible, but remains within 30 feet of you? The description of Relentless ...
user avatar
  • 79
8 votes
1 answer
342 views

Can my warlock use the Actor feat to mimic speech through my familiar using the Voice of the Chain Master eldritch invocation?

The Actor feat states (PHB, p. 165): You can mimic the speech of another person or the sounds made by other creatures. You must have heard the person speaking, or heard the creature make the sound, ...
user avatar
  • 2,968
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Do the swim speeds gained from Gift of the Sea and Gift of the Depths add together?

I made a warlock that gains 40ft of swimming speed due to the fathomless pact (Gift of the Sea). If I now pick the Gift of the Depths Eldritch Invocation will they add up and result in a swimming ...
user avatar
  • 61
3 votes
1 answer
259 views

Does the reaction from the Tomb of Levistus warlock invocation interrupt (and halt) ongoing movement?

I've been wondering about the following scenario: Our party is moving through a dungeon and comes upon a wall of fire. To proceed, we need to pass through. Dispelling does not work and we have no wish ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Spike growth with forced movement

I am playing a level 5 warlock that is pact of the genie (dao) with the Repelling Blast, Grasp of Hadar, and lance of lethargy Eldritch Invocations. I cast spike growth centered on an enemy. On my ...
user avatar
  • 2,673
0 votes
1 answer
644 views

Does a Warlock's Repelling Blast Stack with Lance of Lethargy?

Lance of Lethargy states: Lance of Lethargy Prerequisite: eldritch blast cantrip Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with your eldritch blast, you can reduce that creature’s speed by ...
user avatar
12 votes
4 answers
2k views

Can I use my best spellcasting ability for Eldritch Adept?

Suppose I am a multiclass character that has "Spellcasting" from multiple sources and I take the Eldritch Adept (Tasha, p.79) feat. Can I then use my best Spell Save DC for spells that that ...
user avatar
  • 2,231
10 votes
3 answers
2k views

Balance implications of houseruled “Megaman Warlock”

One of the first 5e character concepts I heard people discussing was the so-called “Megaman Warlock,” based on using monster weapons as pact weapons since the Player’s Handbook rules text for Pact of ...
user avatar
  • 318k
12 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can a character that has multiclassed as a War Domain Cleric and Blade Pact Warlock attack 3 times in a round?

In DnD 5e a 1st level a War Domain cleric gets "bolts of inspiration" that allow an extra attack as a bonus action. This ability can only be used a limited number of times per long rest. At ...
user avatar
  • 772
7 votes
2 answers
2k views

If I have the fighter's Extra Attack feature and the warlock's Thirsting Blade eldritch invocation, how many attacks can I make?

I am playing a half-orc fighter level 7 and warlock level 3. When I gain a warlock class level, I will gain an Eldritch Invocation, and I will pick Thirsting Blade. How many attacks can I make, since ...
user avatar
  • 1,067
9 votes
3 answers
2k views

What happens if a character takes the Thief of Five Fates invocation, but doesn't have Warlock spell slots?

Using the Eldritch Adept feat, a non-warlock can take any invocation that doesn't have a prerequisite. One invocation which meets that criteria is the Thief of Five Fates, which states: You can cast ...
user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
9k views

Does the Eldritch Adept feat have an extremely limited list of invocations?

The Eldritch Adept feat is presumably intended to allow a non-Warlock to dip a little into the Warlock feature by granting them one invocation. However, selection of the invocation is limited as ...
user avatar
20 votes
2 answers
2k views

How can a group of Warlocks create and distribute magical wanted posters?

The Question My dnd-5e party has angered a wealthy and powerful cult of warlocks. That group of warlocks plans to offer a bounty for the destruction of the party. Using only Warlock spells, ...
user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
953 views

Can a high level warlock with Book of Ancient Secrets learn ritual spells higher than 5th level?

Let's say I'm an 11th level Pact of the Tome Warlock with Book of Ancient Secrets. I'm able to learn spells to cast as rituals from any source, I can transcribe spells up to half my level rounded up, ...
user avatar
  • 91
0 votes
1 answer
65 views

Can a warlock combine an essence into hellfire blast? [duplicate]

Can a warlock combine essence invocations into Hellfire Blast such as Frightful Blast? If so, how would that change effective caster level of the blast?
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
705 views

I'm a lvl10 sorcerer: should I plan for Spell Sniper + Eldritch Adept to get a powerful cantrip? [closed]

I'm currently a level 10 Tiefling Sorcerer, playing my first game of D&D (5e). I'm mostly selecting spells for boon'ing party members, with a couple of save-or-suck spells in reserve + simple ...
user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
387 views

Bonus action attack ability score modifier

This may be confusing but currently in the campaign there is a warlock with a magic revolver that allows them to add eldritch invocations related to eldritch blast to the weapon. So agonizing blast ...
user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
659 views

Eldritch Devil Sight and Darkness spell

Situation: Drow Warlock casts darkness. Moves out of the effect area then uses devil sight to see through the darkness to use ranged combat against enemies. Devil Sight description states "You ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
144 views

So Sharing Vision with Eyes of the Runekeeper does it work?

So I basically in a game sharing vision via my familiar and I was assuming that the Eyes of the rune keeper allows the ability to Read all writing. If I'm sharing sense with my familiar am I still ...
user avatar
17 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can a warlock with the Aspect of the Moon eldritch invocation choose to sleep whenever they want?

Aspect of the Moon, an eldritch invocation for the Pact of the Tome warlock, grants this benefit: You no longer need to sleep and can't be forced to sleep by any means. This seems to leave open the ...
user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

If you use the Investment of the Chain Master Eldritch Invocation, does your familiar get a bonus to its saving throw DC from your own magic items?

The Investment of the Chain Master Eldritch Invocation states: [...] When you cast find familiar, you infuse the summoned familiar with a measure of your eldritch power, granting the creature the ...
user avatar
  • 209
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does the Devil’s Sight eldritch invocation counter the Blinded condition?

The Devil’s Sight eldritch invocation for warlocks says: You can see normally in darkness, both magical and nonmagical, to a distance of 120 feet. Does this mean that if you are blinded, casting ...
user avatar
  • 9,922
2 votes
1 answer
322 views

How does Detect Magic spell see a Warlock's use of Devil's Sight invocation?

I assume Eldritch Invocations are detected as magic, because they are magic: In your study of occult lore, you have unearthed eldritch invocations, fragments of forbidden knowledge that imbue you ...
user avatar
8 votes
4 answers
2k views

Is my homebrew melee Eldritch Blast cantrip balanced?

Intent A complaint I often hear about Warlocks is that, unless they choose Pact of the Blade/Hexblade, they are effectively pidgeon-holed into playing a caster that sits in the back, blasting foes ...
user avatar
  • 11.1k
8 votes
1 answer
421 views

What is the meaning of invoker level for a Warlock?

Hellfire Warlock prestige class (Fiendish Codex II: Tyrants of the Nine Hells variant, p. 89) mentions: Invoking: At each level, you gain new invocations known, increased damage with eldritch blast, ...
user avatar
13 votes
1 answer
1k views

Eldritch Smite: Can you decide whether the enemy goes prone or do they always go prone?

Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, you can expend a warlock spell slot to deal an extra 1d8 force damage to the target, plus another 1d8 per level of the spell slot, and you ...
user avatar
  • 3,389
0 votes
1 answer
124 views

What creatures cannot be blinded?

Warlock with Beshadowed Blast can blind targets if target fails to make a DC check against 10 + Spell level (4) + Caster level Beshadowed Blast indicates: This eldritch essence invocation allows you ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
119 views

How does combining eldritch essence and shape with metamagic feats effect the spell level?

In the Complete Arcane, page 9, it indicates: When a warlock uses both kinds of invocations to alter an eldritch blast, the spell level equivalent is equal to the spell level of the eldritch blast, ...
user avatar
12 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock with the Thirsting Blade invocation make one attack with their pact weapon and one with a different weapon?

If you have a weapon in each hand (neither of which has the light property) and you have the Extra Attack feature, you can use Extra Attack to attack with each weapon once using your action. However, ...
user avatar
  • 3,389
27 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can I have a magic bow as my pact weapon without getting the Improved Pact Weapon Eldritch Invocation?

The Warlock's Pact of the Blade feature specifies that you can only create melee weapons, but you can also turn a magic weapon into your pact weapon (without specifying that it's only melee weapons). ...
user avatar
  • 1,678
6 votes
1 answer
4k views

Is there an upper limit to the damage that Eldritch Smite can deal?

The Eldritch Invocation "Eldritch Smite" says the following: Eldritch Smite Prerequisite: 5th level, Pact of the Blade feature Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, ...
user avatar
  • 76.9k
6 votes
1 answer
3k views

What is the damage dealt by Eldritch Smite?

Eldritch Smite is an Eldritch Invocation for Warlocks similar to the Divine Smite feature from Paladins. It is available in Xanathar's Guide to Everything and states Once per turn when you hit a ...
user avatar
  • 35.7k
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

At what point is a Lifedrinker Warlock's expected damage reduced by Sharpshooter/GWM?

At Level 12, a Pact of the Blade Warlock can take the Lifedrinker Eldritch Invocation, which states the following: When you hit a creature with your pact weapon, the creature takes extra necrotic ...
user avatar
  • 11.1k
0 votes
1 answer
250 views

Is my homebrew Eldritch Invocation that emulates the sleep spell balanced?

I've been inspired to make an Eldritch Invocation for warlocks that allows you to use the damage from eldritch blast, and make use of it like the dice rolled for sleep: Eldritch Slumber Prerequisites:...
user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
6k views

Is a Warlock's Improved Pact Weapon considered a magic weapon?

This is in response to this question which concerns the UA version of Improved Pact Weapon. The text for the Eldritch Invocation changed when it was published in Xanathar's Guide to Everything. The ...
user avatar
  • 11.1k
8 votes
3 answers
2k views

Would expanding the Beguiling Influence invocation in this way cause any problems?

One of the warlock's Eldritch Invocations, Beguilling Influence, bugs me. The full description is: Beguiling Influence You gain proficiency in the Deception and Persuasion skills. This is fine ...
user avatar
  • 76.9k
2 votes
1 answer
218 views

Are these homebrew attempts at recreating some blast shape invocations from 3.5e balanced for 5e? (Version 2)

This is a follow up to the question: Are these homebrew attempts at recreating some blast shape invocations from 3.5e balanced for 5e? As that question explains, I wanted to convert some "blast shape"...
user avatar
  • 76.9k
2 votes
2 answers
3k views

What are some feats that are required to maximize eldritch blast damage output?

I am working on a warlock build for my next campaign and I am having trouble finding feats that would apply and boost Warlock's eldritch blast damage output. This is because Warlock is not a ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
695 views

Are these homebrew attempts at recreating some blast shape invocations from 3.5e balanced for 5e?

In D&D 3.5e, there were various "blast shape" invocations available to warlocks, five of which were included in the video game Neverwinter Nights 2 (which is based on 3.5e and is all I really know ...
user avatar
  • 76.9k
1 vote
1 answer
45 views

What do I roll to cast a summon with pre-determined base attack bonus?

I am playing a warlock in my current campaign and I selected earthen grasp for one of the invocations. Earthen grasp comes with its own base attack bonus: Earthen Grasp: Treat the arm as a Medium ...
user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
134 views

How is miss chance calculated if a caster has Entropic shield active and is inside Darkness spell?

My question is simple. I have a warlock that has following invocations: Darkness: "This spell causes an object to radiate shadowy illumination out to a 20-foot radius. All creatures in the area ...
user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does Improved Pact Weapon allow casting a spell with somatic and material components using a Heavy-crossbow as the focus?

As stated in the title, I've read about casting spells with somatic component with two-handed weapons here. The thing is that the Xanathar's warlock invocation [Improved Pact Weapon] says that you can ...
user avatar
  • 63
5 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you pull the same enemy multiple times with Grasp of Hadar?

Based on the setting explained by KorvinStarmast in this question, I'd like to know if you can pull someone more than once with Eldritch Blast + Grasp of Hadar if you hit him with multiple blasts (...
user avatar
  • 725